Wimbledon Championship 2019

Wimbledon Championship 2019 Winner List

The Wimbledon Championship 2019 was played from 01 July 2019 to 14 July 2019 and was the 133rd edition of the tournament.

This article is important for all those students preparing for the exams like SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SBI PO and SBI CLERK. From the Current Affairs point of view, these Wimbledon Championship 2019 winner lists are very important.

List of Grand Slam Winners 2018

Wimbledon Championship is a joint men’s and women’s professional tennis tournament. It is the oldest tennis tournament, which started in the year 1877. It is played in  All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, also called All England Club in Wimbledon, London, England.

It is the only Grand Slam that is played on a grass court.

Men’s Single Wimbledon championship 2019

Read More- French Open 2019 Winners

Novak Djokovic of Serbia defeated Roger Federer of Switzerland.

Djokovic reached the final by defeating Roberto Bautista Agut of Spain and Roger Federer defeated Rafael Nadal.

The final match was played for 4 hours 57 minutes.

Knowledge Booster: In 2018 Novak Djokovic won the title by defeating Kevin Anderson

Women’s Singles Wimbledon championship 2019

Simona Halep of Romania lifted the trophy by defeating Serena Williams of the USA by 6-2, 6-2.

Simona Halep defeated  Elina Svitolina of Ukraine to reach the final whereas Serena Williams defeated  Barbora Strycova to get into the final.

Knowledge Booster: In 2018 Angelique Kerber won the title by defeating Serena Williams

Men’s Doubles Wimbledon championship 2019

Read More- Madrid Open 2019 Winners List

Winners: Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah of Colombia.

Runners-up:  Nicolas Mahut and Édouard Roger-Vasselin of France.

Women’s Doubles Wimbledon championship 2019

Winners: Hsieh Su-Wei of Chinese Taipei and Barbora Strycova of the Czech Republic

Runners-up: Gabriela Dabrowski of Canada and Xu Yifan China

Mixed Doubles Wimbledon championship 2019

In the mixed doubles, Ivan Dodig of Croatia and Latisha Chan of Chinese Taipei defeated Robert Lindstedt of Sweden and Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia.

Australian Open 2020 Winners List

Update: Wimbledon Tennis Championship 2020 cancelled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Wimbledon Official Website: Click Here

Leave a comment